P.O. Box 22435 Santa Barbara, CA 93121
(805) 965-8030

Central Committee

What is the Central Committee?

The Santa Barbara County Democratic Central Committee is an elected body that makes up the Democratic Party in Santa Barbara County.

The Santa Barbara County Democratic Central Committee is an elected body that organizes the Democratic Party in Santa Barbara County. Members are elected every 4 years on the US Presidential ballot based supervisorial district. Each club also has a representative on the SBDCC. During the Covid-19 pandemic, meetings are held at 6pm on the FIRST Thursday of every month via Zoom. Meetings are open to any registered Democrat.

For this purpose the Central Committee does the following

    • Recruits, trains, and endorses candidates
    • Sends voting delegates to party conventions
    • Coordinates campaign efforts for candidates and issues
    • Sponsors voter outreach and registration drives
    • Recruits volunteers to support candidates and issues

Democratic Central Committee meetings will be held via video and teleconference in accordance with California Democratic Party recommendations.

In accordance with our bylaws, any registered Democrat may attend Central Committee meetings. If you would like to attend, and are not a member or ex-officio of the committee, please sign up by clicking here.

Apply to serve on the Central Committee

The Democratic Party invites interested Democrats residing in Supervisorial District 4 to apply for appointment to fill a vacancy on the Central Committee. Appointments will be considered at the November 4 meeting. Check your voter registration status here. Please submit a letter of interest to the Chair by emailing darcel@sbdems.org and plan to attend the meeting for an interview.

Committee Members


  • David Atkins (South County Vice Chair)**
  • Christian Alonso (Secretary)**
  • Charles Croninger
  • Gabriel Escobedo
  • Bob Handy
  • Carol Keator


  • Hillary Blackerby
  • E.J. Borah
  • Lucille Boss Ramirez (Controller)**
  • Darcél Elliott (Chair)**
  • Gail Teton-Landis
  • Joan Vignocchi


  • Bill Rosen
  • Jeffery Hall
  • Viridiana Fernandez
  • Skylar Payab
  • Denise El Amin


  • Janet Blevins
  • Teri Doutney


  • Roger Hart
  • Laura Selken


  • Steve Bennett – 37th District Assemblymember
  • Hannah Sullivan – Ex-Officio Alternate for Steve Bennett
  • Monique Limón – 19th District Senator
  • James Kyriaco – Ex-Officio Alternate for Monique Limon
  • Salud Carbajal – 24th District Member of Congress
  • Jordan Killebrew – Ex-Officio Alternate for Salud Carbajal
  • Dawn Addis – 35th District Assembly Candidate
  • Joe Pierre – Ex-Officio Alternate for Dawn Addis (North County Vice Chair)**


  • Daraka Larimore-Hall – California Democratic Party Executive Committee
  • Wally Waldau – Club Rep for Lompoc Valley Democratic Club
  • Cheryl Hermann – Club Rep for Santa Ynez Valley Democratic Organization
  • Beth Schneider – Club Rep for Democratic Club of the Santa Maria Valley
  • Charlie Clouse – Club Rep for Democratic Service Club
  • Leilanie Rubinstein – Club Rep for Campus Democrats at UCSB
  • Elissa Padilla – Alternate Club Rep for Campus Democrats at UCSB
  • Christina Pizarro – Club Rep for Democratic Women of Santa Barbara County
  • Carlos Lopez – Club Rep for Santa Barbara Young Democrats
  • Ian Baucke – Alternate Club Rep for Santa Barbara Young Democrats
  • Laura Miller – Club Rep for Santa Maria Valley Young Democrats

**Executive Board Member